La Fortuna - Reisverslag uit Fortuna, Costa Rica van Sjoukje Lange - WaarBenJij.nu La Fortuna - Reisverslag uit Fortuna, Costa Rica van Sjoukje Lange - WaarBenJij.nu

La Fortuna

Door: Sjoukje

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sjoukje

14 November 2016 | Costa Rica, Fortuna

Hola muchachos!

La Fortuna was a good short stop to catch up some social time. It's a small and super touristic village, only existing because it's next to Arenal volcano and lake la Fortuna. Indeed, the setting was amazing. At the moment you enter the village, you can't deny the huge cone shaped form at the horizon.

I spend three nights in la Fortuna in an amazing hostel "resort" including swimming pool, bar, etc etc. Full of other backpackers of all nationalities. Finally talking in a normal language! I've to say it gives an extra dimension to follow the American elections with five fanatic Hillary voters.
On day 0 I met some Dutch girls, with whom I did an amazing hike the next day. Up to Cerro Chato, the small side crater of Arenal. A five hour walk over a slippery muddy hill, covered with rain forest and with beautiful lookouts to Arenal. The crater lake at the top was beautifully green-blue and the best of all: swimming possibility! The perfect treat after soaking our clothes in sweat.
Again I used the evening for socializing and making new friends. My Spanish and Portugese roommates invited me for their trip to the waterfall the next day. Waterfall la Fortuna is a 70m high water mass falling down in the jungle. Despite the exploited of the place by tourist companies, it was breathtaking. The sensation of fresh fog and again the possibility to swim in the pool of the waterfall. An intense stream, like a heavy massage, almost swept us away from our feet.

The following day it was already time to go on. Cerro Chirripo, the highest mountain of Costa Rica is waiting for me on Monday. I decided tot travel in that direction a bit earlier and ended up sleeping a a place of a Costa Rican family I met in the bus. How super friendly! On Saturday me and the boy I met in the bus, a student/hippie/art guy, went to Nauyaca waterfalls. On a motor over the interamerican highway. A very unusual feeling... :) The waterfalls were more than amazing. La Fortuna falls are probably higher, but absolutely less intense. So wide and desolate. Barely people. Just the sound and the feeling of the water. Climbing over slippery rocks. Once found a hidden pool for ourselves, we couldn't resist skinny dipping. Ultimate happiness. Especially with a lunch of chicken and rice, packed in banana leaves (those people are way to kind for me...).

The possibility to go by motor was amazing. The busses in Costa Rica may be super cheap ($4 for a 4 hour ride), they are also super slow (4 hours for 100km) and depart at the most impossible times. Luckily I've time, because it's the only public transport in Costa Rica -if you don't count taxis-. Bus stops barely exist, ant he buss picks you up or drops you off at every possible location along the route. As long as you are able to communicate this with the driver.For natives this is peanuts, but it remains a big challenge for travelers. Asking asking asking. Other options are meeting people with a car (check), motor (check) or rent a bike and risk your life cycling on highways (not check). Concluding, in the days I described in this text, I spend approximately 16 hours in a bus. And that's pretty ok. :)

The moment I write this I lie in a small hut in a garden, with candles, music and my book. The perfect way of relaxation for tomorrow when I will go to the start point of the Cerro Chirripo hike: 3 days in the mountains... Wish me luck!

Beso!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sjoukje

Actief sinds 02 Okt. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 315
Totaal aantal bezoekers 11939

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Oktober 2016 - 05 Januari 2017

Latin-America

Landen bezocht: