The start of la Pura Vida - Reisverslag uit Jacó, Costa Rica van Sjoukje Lange - WaarBenJij.nu The start of la Pura Vida - Reisverslag uit Jacó, Costa Rica van Sjoukje Lange - WaarBenJij.nu

The start of la Pura Vida

Door: Sjoukje

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sjoukje

13 Oktober 2016 | Costa Rica, Jacó

Hola Amigos!

Costa Rica. Im really there. Right now I use a computer at my language school: academia Tica in Jaco. The keyboard is a bit weird, I havent found a comma yet and spelling checkers dont exist here. Still I aim to write a readable story for you. :)

The week before departure was terrible: I was ill. But I forgot missing the goodbye parties and dinners at the moment I stepped in the plane. A super smooth journey (my first 2 costarican phone numbers of people I met at the airport are saved) and 24hours later I settled at my guest family in Jaco. Who speak only spanish by the way, kinda challenging to communicate since I dont (didnt!!) have any Spanish knowledge. The following days I discoverd Jaco. Made a beginning with discovering Costa Rica and its culture and climate. Its ocean. Its people. Its food. Spanish classes are from 0800 till 1140 (solamente en Español!), which leaves plenty of time to discover. Im summing up my first impressions:

- God thanks the spoken Costarican Spanish is slow. My guest family really tries to say everything... really... slow... And still its hard, but Im learning super fast!
- Costa Rica is hot. Super hot. And moisty and humid. I walk around in shorts and dresses the whole day. I knew that I would be here in the rainy season, but when the mud flowed over the highway I couldnt hide my surprise. Generally the weather is clear in the morning and its start to rain somewhere around 15h. Sadly walking in th rain doesnt give any refreshment, since the rain is like a hot shower. Talking about showers... the one at my guest family is a cold one... :P
- A jet lag is terrible. The first days I woke up at 3am every night. But Im booking progress, it has changed to 5am!
- The sea is really impressive. If you think the Dutch sea during a storm is strong, you are wrong. Standing in the see kneedeep is challenging enough, especially if a waves are collapsing over your head.
- Jaco is a really touristic town. Situated next to the sea makes it surfer paradise. Furthermore many American and Canadian expats moved here after their retirement. However Im not impressed by the originality of the town, the natures makes up for everyting:
- My have-seen list at the moment consists of (english readers, translate yourself...) kolibries, pelikanen, gieren, de plaatstelijke kraai (whatever it may be), leguanen... Pineapple-, orange-, banana-, lemon trees... And probably much more than I can think of righ now. And this is just in the city! This weekend I gonna be at a national parc for the first time, be ready for some updates next blog! Beforehand I thought those animals wouldnt impress me so much, but actually... Im stunned! One small disadvantage of the wildlife is that it includes mosquitos. You dont see them, you dont hear them, but every day you wake up with even more swollen stings. Who tells me DEET really works should have a look at my legs.
- The costa rican cuisine is sadly not the most inspiring. Rice and beans, called gallo pinto, are eaten for breakfast, lunch and dinner. But Im a bit lucky. My guest family owns a soda (A small costa rican restaurant), which means the breakfast and dinner they serve me is of good quality. Baked green bananas, meat, eggs, and of course much rice.
- Costa Rican women are fat. Which is absolutely fine with me. But combine this with hot weather and too tight clothes. You see, this image follows me in my dreams. Horrible.

Im starting to get used to my life here. It doesnt feel as home yet, but it doesnt feel unconfortable either. Im really curious what the coming days, weeks, months will show me. La pura vida.
But now you have to excuse me, because Im gonna risk my life on a surf board. For the first time...

Lots of love amigos!


  • 13 Oktober 2016 - 21:42

    Onno:

    Go Sjoukje go!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sjoukje

Actief sinds 02 Okt. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 339
Totaal aantal bezoekers 11960

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Oktober 2016 - 05 Januari 2017

Latin-America

Landen bezocht: